Bodkin Ras Wins Rotterdam FIPRESCI Award!

We won! We are absolutely delighted to tell you that Bodkin Ras won the International Film Festival Rotterdam FIPRESCI award at IFFR on Friday. The award is for the judges’ favourite film in the Bright Futures strand.

Bodkin Ras winning FIPRESCI award

The FIPRESCI Award is given to the filmmaker of the best film in Bright Future by the jury of the Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique (FIPRESCI). The FIPRESCI jury exists of international film journalists, who grant this award during IFFR to a film in the section Bright Future. Only first feature films that have their world premiere during IFFR and are not included in a competition qualify for this award, and the jury were selecting from a total of eleven films.

The FIPRESCI jury consisted of Joost Broeren, Taylor Hess, Dragan Jurak, Toni Junyent, Martin Kudlac, Kevin B. Lee, Archana Nathan and Yael Shuv. They described the film as a “fascinating hybrid of documentary and fiction, filled with unforgettable characters, a strong sense of place and an urgency that turns the experiment into a thrilling and humanistic film”.

From Forres to Rotterdam

Rotterdam was a wonderful place to premiere our film. We were thrilled to receive a series of packed out screenings and lots of positive feedback about the film. Check what the festival Director Bero Beyer said about it.

Feedback from the people of Forres at our cast and crew screening also means the world to us. Thank you!

Full list of IFFR Award Winners 2016

Hivos Tiger Award 2016: Radio Dreams by Babak Jalali

Warsteiner Audience Award went to audience favourite Land of Mine by Martin Zandvliet

Hubert Bals Fund Dioraphte Award 2016 is El abrazo de la serpiente by Ciro Guerra

MovieZone Award 2016: Land of Mine by Martin Zandvliet

VPRO Big Screen Award 2016: Les ogres by Léa Fehner

Bright Future Award 2016:  Las lindas by Melisa Liebenthal

FIPRESCI Award 2016: Bodkin Ras  by Kaweh Modiri

NETPAC Award 2016:  The Plague at the Karatas Village by Adilkhan Yerzhanov

KNF Award 2016: De waarneming by Frank Scheffer

Congratulations to all the award-winners and shortlisted films.